K of C Banner

Knights of Columbus Council # 194

Our Council's History

Knights of Columbus Council # 194 was founded by 84 members of the St. Mary's Church Parish located in Glens Falls, New York on December 13th, 1896. The First Grand Knight of the Council was Grand Knight Charles W. Minahan who served as Grand Knight of the Council during the 1897 to 1898 Columbian Year. The First Council Lodge for Knights of Columbus Council # 194 was located at 68 Warren Street in Glens Falls, New York. The Council Lodge remained on Warren Street in Glens Falls until 1979 when the Council moved to 989 State Route 9 in Queensbury, New York. On September of 2019, The Council moved back to its original and current location at 68 Warren Street in Glens Falls, New York.

Our Principles

All the good works we do are informed by our four core principles:

Charity - Our Catholic faith teaches us to “Love thy neighbor as thyself.” Members of the Knights of Columbus show love for their neighbors by conducting food drives and donating the food to local soup kitchens and food pantries, by volunteering at Special Olympics, and by supporting, both spiritually and materially, mothers who choose life for their babies. Knights recognize that our mission, and our faith in God, compels us to action. There is no better way to experience love and compassion than by helping those in need, a call we answer every day.

Unity – None of us is as good as all of us. Members of the Knights of Columbus all know that – together – we can accomplish far more than any of us could individually. So we stick together…we support one another. That doesn’t mean that we always agree or that there is never a difference of opinion. It does mean that – as a Knight of Columbus – you can count on the support and encouragement of your brother Knights as you work to make life better in your parish and community.

Fraternity – The Venerable Michael J. McGivney founded the Knights of Columbus, in large part, to provide assistance to the widows and children left behind when the family breadwinner died – often prematurely. The Order’s top-rated insurance program continues to do this today, as do individual Knights, who last year gave more than 10 million hours of their time to assist sick and/or disabled members and their families. In the Knights of Columbus, we watch out for and take care of one another.

Patriotism – Members of the Knights of Columbus, be they Americans, Canadians, Mexicans, Cubans, Filipinos, Poles, or Dominicans, are patriotic citizens. We are proud of our devotion to God and country, and believe in standing up for both. Whether it’s in public or private, the Knights remind the world that Catholics support their nations and are amongst the greatest citizens.

List of Past Grand Knights

Charles W. Minahan (1897-1898)

Dr. D.J. Fitzgerald (1899)

H. Frank Lee (1900)

Edward M. Cashion (1901)

Daniel O' Leary Jr. (1902)

John Reilly (1903)

Daniel Linehan (1904)

John Bazinet (1905-06)

Dr. John J. Dever (1907-08)

Charles W. Minahan (1909)

James H. Healey (1910-11)

John P. Sullivan (1912-13)

Dr. D.F. McGillicuddy (1914-15)

Andrew H. Boyle (1916-17)

Frank Hurley (1918-19)

W. S. Kelleiter (1920)

Henry Lenz (1920-21)

Dr. Edmund Burns (1922)

George Bayle (1923-25)

Frank P. Monaghan (1926-28)

T.J. McGillicuddy (1929-31)

F. Leo Nolan (1932-33)

Wilfred L. Brodeur (1934)

Gerald P. McPhillips (1935-36)

J. Clarence Herlihy (1937)

John L. Clancy (1938)

Francis W. McGinley (1939-41)

Lionel J. Boivin (1942)

Gordon J. Moynihan (1943-45)

Ernest Owens (1945)

George D. Nolan (1946-47)

D. Frank Sullivan (1948-49)

Dr. Edmund P. Ryan (1950)

Harold D. Ward (1951)

Henry J. Carpenter (1952)

John J. Kenneally (1953)

Humphrey E. Casey (1954)

Edwin O' Connor (1955)

Joseph S. Gokey (1956)

Timothy F. Donovan (1957-58)

Richard T. Cronin (1959-60)

Jerome E. Mulcahy (1961-63)

Alfred S. Getz (1964)

Patrick J. Burke (1965-66)

William A. Deyette (1967-68)

Anthony J. Scott (1969-71)

Daniel J. Johnson (1971-74)

Edward J. Bethel (1974-75)

Martin H Bryne (1975-76)

Kevin A. Richardson (1976-77)

Arthur J. Treceno (1977-79)

John D. Sullivan (1979-80)

Joseph M. Sheehan (1980-82)

John R. Paquin (1982-83)

Donald F. Whiting (1983-84)

John J. Brennan (1984-85)

Michael J. O' Connor (1985-86)

Robert E. McDermott (1986-89)

Thomas Gentile (1989-90)

E. George Terry (1990-91)

Thomas Gentile (1991-93)

Robert E. McDermott (1993-95)

Albert C. Zang Sr. (1996)

Robert E. McDermott (1996-98)

Joseph R. Sullivan (1998-2003)

David M. Cox (2003-06)

Joseph R. Sullivan (2006-10)

Christopher P. Anderson (2010-12)

Joseph R. Sullivan (2012-14)

Christopher P. Anderson (2014-16)

Sean Sullivan (2016-2018)

Timothy McNulty (2018- 2022)

Gabriel Bedore (2022 - Present)


This website is currently under construction, please visit us again soon for more updates!

© Knights of Columbus Council # 194